UM Family Medicine Residency Program completes 10 new GPs

MISSOULA – Underserved and rural areas in Montana and other states will add 10 new GPs as the University of Montana’s Family Medicine Residency of Western Montana completes its sixth grade today, June 27th.

“FMRWM is proud to announce the completion of our sixth grade family doctors,” said Dr. Robert Stenger, the director of the program. “Our program continues to fulfill its mission to provide well-trained GPs to rural and underserved communities in Montana. This year’s graduates will include practices in Butte, Columbia Falls, Miles City, Missoula, and Ronan. “

The 2021 class and their future practice locations are: Emily Anderson, Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (Ronan); Carey Downey, doctor (Butte); Ariel Fillmore, MD (Salt Lake City); Geoff Holman, MD (Missoula); Sarah Horne, MD (Missoula); James Jennings, DO (Oneonta, New York); Kelsey Morgosh, MD (Flagstaff, Arizona); Margie Albers, MD (Miles City); Chelsie Russig, DO (Columbia Falls); and Eric Weber, MD (to be determined).

FMRWM, based in Missoula and Kalispell, is sponsored by UM and is affiliated with the University of Washington’s Family Medicine Residency Network. The course is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Medical Studies. The residents take part in training courses in continuity clinics in the Partnership Health Center in Missoula and in the Greater Valley Health Center in Kalispell.

The program works with a comprehensive rural education network in 16 locations: Barrett Hospital and HealthCare, Dillon; Blackfeet Community Hospital, Browning; Montana Central Medical Center, Lewistown; Clark Fork Valley Hospital, Plains; Anaconda Community Hospital; Deer Lodge Medical Center; Eureka Healthcare, North Valley Hospital; Madison Valley Medical Center, Ennis; Marcus Daly Memorial Hospital, Hamilton; Northwest Community Health Center, Libby; Providence St. Joseph Medical Center, Polson; Ruby Valley Medical Center, Sheridan; St. Luke Community Hospital, Ronan; St. James Medical Group & Southwest Montana Community Health Center, Butte; Stoneybrook Medicine, Stevensville; Tribal Health of the Confederate Salish and Kootenai Tribes, St. Ignatius.

Reed Humphrey, dean of UM College of Health and acting provost, serves as designated institutional officer for the FMRWM and directs the UM Health & Medicine program.

“The residency program is an extremely important element of our interprofessional collaboration at UM,” he said. “We are excited to sponsor and work closely with the residency program in our expanded portfolio of modern health education programs.”

More information is available at

Source link

About Stephanie McGehee

Check Also

Letter: City must commit to anti-racist work | Prior Lake Letters to the Editor

In this open letter to our neighbors, we hope to explain how our community’s increased …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *