Five locals appointed to the newly created Commission for Art, Culture and Tourism | South Lake Tahoe

SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, California – During its session on Tuesday, the South Lake Tahoe City Council appointed the first five voting members of the new Arts, Culture and Tourism Commission.

The commission was set up by decision of August 20th. Interested parishioners were asked to apply and seven applications were received. The city sought applications from young people and a place for a non-voting member of the South Lake Tahoe Tourism Improvement District or the Lake Tahoe Lodging Association. None of these segments were obtained.

The following were appointed:

Stacey Ballard
Eleanor BonBon Brennan
Scott Forrest
David Hamilton
Bryan Yerian

Tony Lyle of the Lake Tahoe Visitors Association was appointed to the non-voting office.

The commission has an advisory role to the city council and will not exercise any authority or authority or act on behalf of the city. In addition, the Commission reviews proposed policies on tourism, arts and culture programs, reports on the results and makes recommendations to the city council.

The Commission will also consider proposed public art projects and
Recommendations on the use of funds for specific projects. In every city council meeting, under the agenda item reports from the city commission, the commission has the opportunity to submit a short report on its activities and submits a formal written report to the city council
annually at the November Council meeting.

The council encouraged individuals who applied but were not selected to apply for the vacancies with the Airport Commission and Recreation Commission.

About Stephanie McGehee

Check Also

Win tix for Built to Spill’s Brooklyn Bowl shows!

Built to spill are touring this spring ahead of the release of their anticipated new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.